South African Government Release Measures To Help Control The Spread Of Coronavirus

South African Government Release Measures To Help Control The Spread Of Coronavirus. On Sunday, President Cyril Ramaphosa addressed the nation extensively about the Coronavirus outbreak. The president declared a state of disaster in the country and imposed a travel ban on some countries.

By Sunday evening there were 61 infections declared by the Department of Health, and the country saw its first cases of locally transmitted infections. Below are measures that have been taken by the government to try curb the virus.

  1. Visits to all correctional centres are suspended for 30 days with immediate effect Firstly, to limit contact between persons who may be infected & South African citizens.
  2. We are imposing a travel ban on foreign nationals from high-risk countries such as Italy, Iran, South Korea, Spain, Germany, the United States, the United Kingdom and China as from 18 March 2020.
  3. Visa issuing to visitors from these countries is cancelled from today and previously granted visas are hereby revoked.
  4. Effective immediately, South African citizens are advised to refrain from all forms of travel to or through the European Union, United States, United Kingdom and other identified high-risk countries such as China, Iran and South Korea.
  5. Government will continue to regularly issue travel alerts referring to specific cities, countries or regions as the situation evolves based on the risk level.
  6. Any person who has visited high-risk countries in the past 20 days will be denied a visa. South African citizens returning from high-risk countries will be subjected to testing and self-isolation or quarantine on return to South Africa.
  7. Travellers from medium-risk countries – such as Portugal, Hong Kong and Singapore – will be required to undergo high intensity screening.
  8. All travellers who have entered South Africa from high-risk countries since mid-February will be required to present themselves for testing.
  9. We will strengthen surveillance, screening and testing measures at OR Tambo, Cape Town and King Shaka International Airports.
  10. South Africa has 72 ports of entry in the country which are land, sea and air ports. Of the 53 land ports, 35 will be shut down with effect from Monday 16 March. 2 of the 8 sea ports will be closed for passengers and crew changes.
  11. Effective immediately, all non-essential travel for all spheres of government outside of the Republic is prohibited. We further discourage all non-essential domestic travel, particularly by air, rail, taxis and bus.
  12. Gatherings of more than 100 people will be prohibited. Mass celebrations of upcoming national days such as Human Rights Day and other large government events will be cancelled.
  13. Schools will be closed from Wednesday, 18 March, and will remain closed until after the Easter weekend. To compensate, the mid-year school holidays will be shortened by a week.
  14. Visits to all correctional centres are suspended for 30 days with immediate effect.
%d bloggers like this: